Chestnut Tree Redone

24 Sep

 

This is the same painting as posted on August 24th, except after it was hanging for awhile on my wall, I decided that there needed to be changes.  I saw that the tree did not seem to be balanced.  It seemed top heavy, which is a characteristic of old chestnut trees, especially this one.  It was not working as a painting, though.  So, I changed some of the light on the upper branches.  Once I was back in to it, I also made other changes.  Note the blueish area between the trunk and the path which makes the tree stand forward and helps define the atmosphere behind the tree.  If you compare them, you will find other changes as well.  This is one of the things I like about painting on Yupo paper.  I can keep changing the painting until everything is right.

Leave a Reply

